August Musing: Happy New Month!!!

Picture credit: Adobe Stock

Hello beautiful people!

I know it’s four days into August and by now the “happy new month” sentiments should’ve phased out. But who makes the rules? and who demands adherence? (smiles in slight rebellion).

This blog is mainly just a check-in and well wishing post to be honest. 8 months into 2020 pro max, otherwise called 2021, has been far from easy for most people.

We are striving, trying and grieving continuously with only a few moments to gasp away from the mess and catch a fresh breath. Our fresh breaths look different, but I hope we are all being intentional about them. Mine are: praying, writing, music, eating … Whenever I feel the weight of the world dragging me, I turn to any of these and find the strength to fight again.

What are your fresh breaths?

At some point earlier this year, I committed to making monthly resolutions, that’s going terribly. Daily to do lists are more achievable and predictable so I bask in those. To be honest, I still cant keep track of how some months have gone by so quickly.

I feel August is a month of soaking in and introspection. As far as weather patterns are concerned, we are moving from winter to summer and in between, there’s August. With fierce winds, occasional sunshine and cold nights. If we are to use the butterfly analogy, I would say August is the cocoon, before the summer wings brighten up and allow us to fly. Well, this may not be a universal depiction, but atleast I believe that for myself and surely, it should count.

I also believe it for my country Zambia because this is the month we go to the polls !!! As a first time voter (yes, I am that young lol just kidding, I was eligible in the previous elections too – but circumstance beyond my control happened) my excitement is over the roof. I am ready to have my vote and voice heard. I will share resources on the importance of voting in separate blog and hope my country men and women turn up in numbers and do what is right.

Also, I will be graduating from my Young African Leaders Initiative(YALI) Regional Leadership Cohort soon. I have planned to do some blogs sharing the knowledge and experience acquired during the 7weeks period of evening classes and seminars. I am excited for that.

Further, my beautiful sis- Lebogang and I have some amazing things cooking up. Thrilled to share that with you guys. If you didn’t read our first collaboration blog, do so now: (Un)employment in a pandemic featuring Lebogang

Well, I think that’s a brief check-in with where I am and where I am planning to be.

So tell me, beautiful reader:

  • How are you doing?
  • What expectations/ plans do you have for August?
  • What’s on your mind?

I would love to hear from you and have a conversation in the comments section, let’s connect.

Sending love and hugs

13 thoughts on “August Musing: Happy New Month!!!”

  1. Despite of all the tears and gashes we’ve experienced, the year moved too fast. I’m just grateful to be alive and God has been good to us.
    Voting is one of the incredible experiences as a nation builder. Nowadays is discouraging because we vote for people who do not really care for our needs. We pray that whoever will be put in power, would be for the people and fulfil what they have been li poert in low for.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Amen my love. We are filled with immense gratitude to be preserved in these times. I echo your sentiments… I am really hoping our voting experience will be safe and smooth and that whoever will be ushered in is truly a leader who puts the best interest of the people first

      Like

  2. *We pray that whoever will be put in power, would be for the people and fulfil what they are supposed to fulfil.
    Congratulations on your YALI program. 👏👏. Looking forward to hearing about how that went.
    The pots are hot for our segments and I’m so glad for that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey Nsatu. I’m doing well. Biggest thing on my August plan is a little more discipline and get in about ten books.
    What’s on my mind – well I’ve just read the post on how two lovebirds met on in a blog comment section and it’s just…wow.
    Can’t wait to see what you and Lebogang have cooked up!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww thanks for reading and engaging love. I am so happy you are well, it is a blessing given the times we are living in. I also really need to catch up on my reading this month- I have a number of books lined up, I hope I’ll be disciplined enough to read them all. Hahah! I saw that on Twitter and wow. I hope Afrobloggers get represented in such amazing love stories, I’ll attend them all if given a chance to- as a lover of all things love. Thankyou xx

      Like

  4. I am good Nsatu, how’dy? This August I was planning to acquire a skill which is supposed to help me divert from the actual job I am doing, I was also planning to go for camping but all these planning have been hampered the partial lockdown we are in. So the only thing remaining on my agenda for this month is to vote, finish the three books I am reading, make some progress on an autodidact economics course I am doing and celebrate my birthday.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi love, awwwww the lockdowns and Covid in general has really been a disruptor to set plans. I love that you have alternatives on the agenda- like reading!!! All the very best with the course you are pursuing. I hope everything runs smoothly. I am thrilled that you will also be voting in the coming elections! Let’s do it for the good of our country. Thankyou for reading and engaging, I value your interaction. *hugs

      Like

Leave a comment