Hello 2024!

Hello beautiful readers!

Thank you for returning to my blog and continuing to grow and explore with me in yet another year. If you are a new reader, welcome to a glimpse of my mind reduced to words. I hope you return often and interact with me, I would love to grow with you.

By the time you are reading this, we would have already been over a month into the new year as this was written at a slower pace through the month of January. Ushering in a new year always comes with a cocktail of emotions. I’m constantly trying to stay in tune with where my mind is as the wheels of 2024 keep turning. In this blog, I will do two things. Firstly, I will share some lessons or experiences that the year before gave me. Secondly, I will share some of my hopes and dreams for the year which currently is.

Lessons and experiences from the year before.

One of my favourite things to do is reminisce on past experiences, lessons and glories. The past, for me, is a reminder of how time and chance really do happen to us all. In certain seasons, my past is flavoured with immense grief which I reminisce on from a place of healing- showing me that indeed time heals all wounds. Other times, my past is an embodiment inexpressible joy and a memory of the good old days- imprinting on my soul that if things could play out a certain way then, it is possible for the present and future to also have such manifestations or even greater.

My 2023 reflection is an intertwinement of feelings of immense grief and inexpressible joy with the latter being more predominant. Thankfully.

For the most of the year, my energies were torn between work and school imbalance with little rays of life whenever I could afford to breathe easy lol. Sounds unhealthy, I know. But, I recall speaking with a colleague in the very recent past on how our lives will require more from us in certain seasons than others. Last year was the season that demanded a lot of hard work and sacrifice from me. I sowed diligently and I’m happy to look back with a grateful heart as I begin to reap this year.

My personal life was also filled with experiences that gave me some lessons I would’ve preferred to learn by observation or through literature than through lived experience. But life is such that we don’t get to determine the modes our lessons will be delivered through, all we can do is just ensure that the lesson is well learned so that the unpleasant teacher can give a good grade and roll away.

The most unsettling lesson I learned is that, sometimes betrayal comes from those closest to us. As a lover of love and a conflict-avoidant person, most times, my mind is trapped in a state of utopia. Thinking just because I wouldn’t do a certain thing, others would think or act in the same way. But that is far from the truth and it’s a lesson I had to learned the hard way. I now know better.

My favourite experience of 2023 was my first international travel for leisure! My very close friend (Maggie- shout out) and I embarked on a exciting journey down south and spent fun filled days in South Africa, Johannesburg. If you want a pictorial journey through my trip feel free to check my instagram page. It was a great way to wind down the year. I look forward to exploring more of the world with my favourite people.

My second favourite was ending the year with my family, alive, healthy, full of love, peace and joy. I learned to not take the wellbeing of the ones I love for granted last year. God preserved us. For that, I’m grateful.

Another favourite experience was being promoted to a managerial position- the youngest in our office! Imagine that. In the thick of juggling the demands of work and the heftiness of school, I managed to work to an extent that deemed me worthy of corporate elevation. Imposter syndrome could not stop my basking in the moment even if it tried. (Side note: those who know me well enough know how much I struggled with embracing my accomplishments loudly. I have made so much progress in this area and I couldn’t be more proud) I count it all joy. My blessings really flowed in 2023.

In summary, my top 5 lessons and experience from 2023 are the following:

  1. There’s no limit to what I can do when I put my mind to it. (re: Busy work plus busy school survival)
  2. It’s okay not to be okay. It’s okay to avoid triggering places and people.
  3. It’s vital to redefine the relationships you have with others based on things you learn as you go.
  4. My heart was made to love and to love DEEPLY. I’m a hopeful romantic. lol
  5. I am surrounded by the best family ever!

Hopes and dreams for 2024

2024, for me, is a season of rejuvenation. I am giving back to myself as much as I can. “Pouring into my cup” if we may call it that.

My creative juices are flowing and I feel inspired to reach greater heights as a blogger, poet and creative in general. Expect more content, creativity, collaborations and fun on your screens! Whether written, spoken, visual or otherwise. This year, I hope to create. I will create.

I am also in my fitness/wellness ‘era’ which I really hope culminates into a sustainable lifestyle habit. I am attempting an integration of intense gym sessions with weights, cardio and everything that comes with it. Whilst also adding Yoga and Pilates to allow my body to flow in tune with my mind and to become more flexible. January ended on a consistent note and so far, February is matching up the pace! Geared to keep it going.

I have no academic ambitions this year lol save for officially graduating from my LLM- Commercial Law program as an A-student, later this year! super super excited to wear my gorgeous black gown and tassel hat. I am in my season of reaping for the moments I sowed. I am eternally grateful.

This year,

I hope to be more present in spaces I feel most alive.

To show the people I love just how much they mean to me.

To be there for myself and to take care of my wellbeing holistically.

To love and be loved with consideration and grace.

To grow and glow in femininity and authenticity.

To travel and fill my soul with the joys of adventure.

To be a light unto the world in everything that I do.

I can’t wait to look back and marvel at the manifestation of everything I hope this year would be and more.

I’m also looking forward to hearing what you have planned for this year. What are some of your hopes and dreams?

Until then,

I wish you all a happy 2024!

-Miss Nsatu, xo.

4 thoughts on “Hello 2024!”

Leave a comment